Aug 8, 2010

China FDC on "Foreign Musicians"

First Day Cover
Sobrescrito de 1.º Dia


Foreign Musicians

Date of Issue : 25 July 2010

(Top FDC)
4-1 : Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), the manuscript used as the background is lifted from Bach's Choral Prelude
--- A German composer and organist, spent most of his lifetime in churches and royal courts. His musical works are mostly devoted to religion, and characterized by philosophy and logic, created with compact and delicate approaches, to convey a broad vision and inclusive splendor. A disciple of Germany's more pristine influences and a master of the Baroque period, Bach profoundly influences the following generations.

(2nd FDC)
4-2 : Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), the score on this stamp is the manuscript of Haydn's "String Quartet in C Major"
--- An Austrian composer, one of the most prolific and prominent composers of the classical period. He is often called the "Father of the Symphony" and "Father of the String Quartet" because of his important contributions to these genres. He was also instrumental in the development of the piano trio and in the evolution of sonata form.

(3rd FDC)
4-3 : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791), the score manuscript used as the background is a part of Mozart's "TheMarriage of Figaro"
--- A prolific and influential composer of the Classical era. He composed over 600 works, many acknowledged as pinnacles of symphonic, concertante, chamber, piano, operatic, and choral music. He is among the most enduringly popular of classical composers.

(4th FDC)
4-4 : Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), the score used as the background is from Beethoven's "Symphony No. 9"
--- A German composer and pianist. He was the most crucial figure in the transitional period between the Classical and Romantic eras in Western classical music, and remains one of the most famous and influential composers of all time. Such is the greatness and stretch of his musical influence - the word 'Beethoven' is synonymous with 'musical genius'.

No comments:

Post a Comment