Feb 27, 2011

Slovakia FDC on "20th Anniversary of the Foundation of the Visegrad Group"

First Day Cover
Sobrescrito de 1.º Dia


20th Anniversary of the Foundation of the Visegrad Group

Date of Issue : 11 February 2011

V4 is an informal grouping of four central European countries – the Czech Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Poland and the Slovak Republic.

In the wake of post-1989 changes, three central European countries decided to forge closer cooperation with the aim of “returning” to Europe. Subsequently, on 15 February 1991, Czechoslovakia’s President Václav Havel, Poland’s President Lech Walesa and Hungary’s Prime Minister József Antall signed the Visegrad Declaration in Visegrád.

After the split of Czechoslovakia and the creation of independent Slovak and Czech Republics in 1993, the trilateral Visegrad cooperation was transformed to a V4 format.

For 20 years, regional cooperation of the V4 has successfully developed in the intersectoral / interministerial field, coordination of foreign policy positions and pursuance of common interests within the EU and vis-à-vis third countries/regions. The activities of the V4 are based on presidency programmes adopted by the Prime Ministers at Visegrad Group summits. The current presidency is held by Slovakia (1 July 2010 – 30 June 2011).

A very nice FDC from Slovak. On the FDC, there were the seal of the office of the foundation and the seal of the Visegrad Library. Thank You very much !

No comments:

Post a Comment