Jan 20, 2011

Israel FDC on "2011 International Year of Chemistry"

First Day Cover
Sobrescrito de 1.º Dia


2011 International Year of Chemistry

Date of Issue : 4 January 2011

The General Assembly of the United Nations has announced 2011 as the “International Year of Chemistry” (IYC2011). Two stamps were issued to commemorate the two Nobel Prizes in chemistry awarded to Israeli scientists.

4.2 Israeli shekel : Avram Hershko (born 31 December 1937), along with Aaron Ciechanover (born October 1, 1947) and Irwin Rose, was awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation. The ubiquitin-proteasome pathway has a critical role in maintaining the homeostasis of cells and is believed to be involved in the development and progression of diseases such as: cancer, muscular and neurological diseases, immune and inflammatory responses.

6.1 Israeli shekel : In 2009, Ada E. Yonath (born June 22, 1939) received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome, becoming the first Israeli woman to win the Nobel Prize out of nine Israeli Nobel laureates

Really a nice FDC. I just like it. Thank you very much to my friend !

No comments:

Post a Comment