Apr 25, 2012

Indonesia FDC on "50th Anniversary of Asia-Pacific Postal Union"

First Day Cover
Sobrescrito de 1.º Dia


50th Anniversary of Asia-Pacific Postal Union

Date of Issue : 1 April 2012

Asian-Pacific Postal Union (APPU) began as the Philippines government invited 18 countries for a roundtable in Manila on 10 - 23 January 1961. Among the countries invited were Afghanistan, Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China,India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam. The roundtable drew up the Asian-Oceanic Postal Convention that was to come into force on 1 April 1962. On that date, a regional postal union was established with Manila as its headquarters and Mr. Palomar, Postamster General of the Philippines elected as the first Director. Later, the headquarters was relocated to Bangkok in 2002.

Affiliated to the Universal Postal Union, a specialised agency of the United Nations, today APPU is an inter-governmental body of 32 countries namely: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Lao, Malaysia, Mongolia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nuru, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samao, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

No comments:

Post a Comment