Sep 20, 2010

China FDC on "Shangri-La"

First Day Cover
Sobrescrito de 1.º Dia



Date of Issue : 13 September 2010

Shangri-La, in northwestern Yunnan, is the capital of the Diqing Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture. In Tibetan language, "Shangri-La" means the "sun and moon in heart". Now, "Shangri-La" become a household word, often synonymous with the earthly paradise.

(On the 1st FDC)
4-1 : Majestic Monastery
The stamp features the magnificent view of Gadan Sumtseling Monastery. Located at the foot of Mt. Foping north of the county seat of Shangri-La, Yunnan Province, the monastery was first built in 1679 and now covers an area of over 333000 square meters, being the largest Tibetan Buddhist monastery in the Tibetan-inhabited areas of Yunnan. Modeled after the Potala Palace in Lhasa, it is nicknamed "Lesser Potala Palace".

4-2 : Green Nature
The stamp depicts the landscapes of the Napa Lake Nature Reserve. Located 3266 meters above sea level northwest of the county seat of Shangri-La, Napa Lake is a seasonal lake, which turns to be a swampy meadow during the dry season. The luxuriant grass makes it a major pasture, as well as a winter abode for some rare and precious animals.

(On the 2nd FDC)
4-3 : Alpine Lake
The stamp showcases the beauty of Potatso National Park, which is located northeast of the county seat of Shangri-La. Covering nearly 2000 square kilometers in total, China's largest national park is well-known for its geological diversity that involves alpine mountains, lakes, forests, and meadows, as well as a variety of rare and precious floral and faunal species.

4-4 : Ancient Town
The stamp depicts the charming view of Dukezong, an ancient town southeast of the county seat of Shangri-La. During the Tang (618-907) and Song (960-1279) dynasties, Dukezong was a trading hub for tea and other products among Yunnan, Sichuan, and Tibet. Built around Mt. Dagui (Giant Tortoise), the town is home to winding streets connecting residential houses in the distinctive Tibetan style. It is one of the best-preserved old towns in Tibetan-inhabited areas.

Souvenir Sheet : Golden Mountain
The souvenir sheet depicts the marvelous view of Meili Snow Mountain. Located in the central section of the Hengduan Mountain Range in northwestern Deqin County, Deqin Prefecture, Meili Snow Mountain straddles the border between Nujiang and Lancang rivers. The more than 10 snow peaks rising over 6000 meters above sea levels are collectively dubbed "13 Crown Peaks", of which Kawagebo, at 6740 meters, is the highest peak in Yunnan, regarded by Tibetan people as the "God of the Snow Mountain" and a shrine devoted to Tibetan Buddhism.

No comments:

Post a Comment