Jun 5, 2009

Korea FDC on "The 100th Anniversary of Korean Cartoon"

First Day Cover
Sobrescrito de 1.º Dia

South Korea

The 100th Anniversary of Korean Cartoon

Date of Issue : 02 June 2009

The stamp design features such recollective cartoons as “Mr. Gobau” by KIM Seong-Hwan, “Run, Hany” by LEE Jin-Ju, “Little Dino Dooly” by KIM Soo-Jeong, “Mengkkongi Village School” by YOON Seung-Un, and “Robot Zzibba” by SHIN Moon-Soo.

On June 2, 1909, Daehanhyeophwoi (Korea Association), one of several Anti-Japanese Social Associations, published the cartoons of Lee Do Yeong (1884∼1933) which touched upon current issues on the first page of the first edition of 『Daehanminbo』, a daily which used both Korean and Chinese characters. This marked the first page of the history of Korea’s cartoon.

The stamps is really very cute and lovely. I like it very much.

No comments:

Post a Comment